Knowledge Base

I am wondering today how competent I am to home school. I was trained to teach first grade but I just feel so stupid sometimes. There is so much I do not know! Honestly, I felt this way when I was teaching too. But we taught the lessons and picked the themes so I could “bone up” on the topic before presenting it. Plus most of the time we were doing Reading and Math. Of course, subjects came up that I was unfamiliar with and/or just didn’t feel completely confident to discuss but not as many as now. Jeez. Alex has questions about everything and I feel like I am constantly saying “I am not sure,” and “We will have to look that up when we get home.” Which I forget. Something is nagging at me that I was supposed to look up adn I forgot 🙂 Thankfully, I am sure it will come up again…LOL. Hopefully my kid doesn’t think his mother in a bumbling idiot. Thank goodness we have the internet. How did anyone manage to homeschool before then? LOL. But I am serious too.

I thought I had the whole should I have Alex memorize debate settled in my mind. I decided that he does memorize things. Books I read to him mostly. I have never had him recite anything but I can tell becasue he is reading along under his breath or throws a line out in regular conversation. Then I read In Defense of Memorization . I should not be swayed so easily! I suppose it is time to do some more research on this subject. It all just sounds so….Anne of Green Gables or Little House on the Praire to me…….

One Response to “Knowledge Base”

  1. Lelani Says:

    You are doing fine! Alex is a bright and capable boy. I understand your feelings though. You know I always whine. Sometimes I think you are my long lost twin, separated at birth. LOL

    QUICK! DO YOU KNOW WHERE YOUR KEYS ARE?

Comments are closed.


