Our Day

I have decided that at least one day during the weekend is set aside for Science. It is too hard to do experiments during the week with Ian. So today, while my husband took Ian to Costco, we worked on our experiments.

My dad gave Alex The Young Scientist Club subscription. We have used it for a year now this Christmas and I have to say I love it! It comes with everything you need for the experiments which is a must for me. Otherwise the poor kid will be 10 before we do the experiment *sigh*. It builds on each other and they are fun. They have him do things that I would not think of necessarily, like charts and graphs. Anyway, so today we finished our fungi and bacteria. We grew our own! Do not look if you are easily grossed out!img_6644 We put antibiotic ointment over the top part (but you can see where we missed it at the very top) so we were able to see how that stuff really works! After that we had time four the next kit. This one is on measurement which is cool since that is what we are working on in The Math Chef. img_6641 This is the “spring” scale we made to measure weight in grams. We had to calibrate it and everything. It was fun and Alex was having a blast.

I am stressing out over all the things I want to get done this week. I keep typing it up, trying to figure it all out…LOL. I think I am going to have to let some things go.

One Response to “Our Day”

  1. Amanda Says:

    These experiments are pretty cool. That fungi really does gross me out though. Makes me want to go wash my hands. LOL.

    I know that these experiments come from a kit but where do all these other cool ideas come from? Do you all discuss them at co-op or do you find these on your own?

Comments are closed.


