Learning New Things

I learned something new last week. Maybe not NEW NEW but…….Alex wanted to wear his cub scout uniform this Saturday for his Pinewood Derby race. I put it off and put it off because that is what I *always* do when I can’t do something right (read perfectly or easily). I had to sew on a bazillion patches. I finally got one done, after several false starts. By the second one I was ready to scream adn throw the whole thing in the trash. I was seriously that frustrated! My mom showed me a more effective way of sewing them on and the last few went a lot better. It had me thinking though that learning something new is not always fun. It can be hard and annoying and VERY VERY FRUSTRATING. Something I need to remember when asking Alex to do things he does not feel confident about.

Alex comes up with at least one experiment a day. Usually it is when he sees some material that is needed and then gathers the other things to show me. Here is one he did the other day (As Seen On TV):
img_6820

He repeated it a lot! It was cool. There is water in the cup.

4 Responses to “Learning New Things”

  1. Cynthia Says:

    Great ‘aha’ moment on learning new things!

    We’ve done the class experiement too, it’s a big hit. Where does Alex get all his ideas?

  2. k8gregory Says:

    uhm, well….television mostly (LOL. Insert bag over head). He gets the experiments from Crash! Bang! Splat!- I think that comes on discovery tv and also Bill Nye; he loves that one too.

  3. Cynthia Says:

    Parker didn’t care for Bill Nye, but we only tried one episode. Never heard of Crash! Bang! Splat! I’ll have to see if it’s on netflix 🙂

  4. k8gregory Says:

    It would be fun to let them watch an episode together and each pick an experiment to try out…..it is a fun show.

Comments are closed.


