Writing

I have been reading The Read Aloud Handbook (which is really good btw). He states that he finds it interesting that parents are afraid to “force” children to read for fear they will grow up hating it. Interestingly enough we have no problem “forcing” children to brush their teeth and , as he points out, it isn’t as though once they move out they quit doing it. I do not have this problem with Alex with reading. But I do with writing and that is *exactly* how I was thinking. He would say “I hate writing” and I would back off for a bit. So over the weekend we all got new journals and I explained that writing is an important skill and the only way to get better at it is to jump in there and start practicing. Today was our first day. He drew a great picture of the life cycle of a frog and, after some encouraging, wrote a sentence. Yep we have tadpoles! There are hundreds upon hundreds at Woodstock Park if anyone is interested. When he was done writing he said, “That was fun.” LOL. Incidentally, the author of said book changed his terms from ‘forcing’ children to read to ‘requiring’ it of them. I am thinking we will wait a few weeks and then choose one story that he has written, proofread, correct, adn copy it over neatly. What we will be do with that, I have no idea….

Alex and I spent the afternoon giggling over Calvin and Hobbes. I forgot that I bought the book weeks ago. It is hilarious! He is so into comic books, I was thinking he might get a kick out of it. Another really good book about a child who fools around quite a bit is A Near Thing for Captain Najork. The first sentence is something like “Tom was fooling around with his chemistry set one day and invented a jam powered frog.” Watching Alex learn, it is amazing to me how much time is wasted in school. I feel lucky to be so involved in the process.

One Response to “Writing”

  1. lelani Says:

    Good thoughts. I’m going to have to “require” more things as we move into higher level work. I like him to have a lot of play time, but I think it’s time for K to realize that “All play and no work perhaps makes an adelpated mind”? LOL

Comments are closed.


